Coming Out Yogi

Brian asks:

Hey, I was a Christian for 10 years, pursuing Jesus with all my might during my devotions. The thing is, however, that I never grew in my faith. I also had some mood problems that prayer and Bible study never helped. However, since I started doing yoga and meditating, these moods are greatly reduced. I’m fascinated by this yogi philosophy and yogis are some of the most kind and compassionate people. But how do I get out of these church commitments where people need me and how do I explain to them what I’m doing? Especially when I know no one will understand?

3 Responses to Coming Out Yogi

  1. Debbie says:

    How do you get out of a commitment? Just say, “I’m not available.” Doesn’t that mean the same whether you are talking to a Christian or a yogi or an atheist or…?

  2. The Atheist says:

    You might want to just be honest with your friends at church. It’s not always easy, but it’s always very liberating, and it’s usually the right thing to do. Being honest gives those who truly are your friends the chance to know the real you, and it gives them the opportunity to make an effort to understand. It also gives you the chance to see what your friends are really made of and maybe to respect them even more than you already do as a result. Who knows, some them may even be interested in your experience with Yoga.

  3. Robert says:

    Honesty last longest.If these people are christians,they will understand you,if not I would not call them christians.I can understand your concern,but you don’t need their understanding to live a rich life,and remember, new friends can be found.Have a good life!

Leave a Reply

